Minutes of Meeting 2024 Regular Session April 2, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Ryan Bourriaque, chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. in Room 3, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Ryan Bourriaque, chairman Representative Chad Michael Boyer Representative Jacob Braud Representative Tehmi Jahi Chassion Representative Kellee Hennessy Dickerson Representative Bryan Fontenot, vice chairman Representative Steven Jackson Representative C. Travis Johnson Representative Patricia "Pat" Moore Representative Patricia "Pat" Moore Representative Rodney Wayne Schamerhorn Representative Phillip Eric Tarver Representative Jeffrey Fons "Jeff" Wiley

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Joy Walters

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Allison Williams, legislative analyst Jennifer Winkler, legislative analyst Darcas Deverteuil, committee administrative assistant

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Cheryl Domino, sergeant at arms

Vivian Hurst, sergeant at arms Quinn Williams, clerk

III. DISCUSSION OF LEGISLATION

House Bill No. 378 by Representative Tarver

Representative Bourriaque announced that action on House Bill No. 378, which prohibits the operator of a toll facility from impacting a person's driver's license or renewal under certain circumstances, was voluntarily deferred.

House Bill No. 685 by Representative Wright

Representative Bourriaque announced that action on House Bill No. 685, which provides relative to the creation of Louisiana Ports Multimodal Council, was voluntarily deferred.

House Bill No. 544 by Representative Boyd

Representative Boyd presented House Bill No. 544, which provides relative to the Regional Transit Authority, and provided a handout, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records.

Peter Robins-Brown, Louisiana Progress, 650 N. 6th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke in support of House Bill No. 544.

Representative Bourriaque offered amendments to:

- (1) Make technical changes.
- (2) Revert back to present law by changing the approval authority from the city council to the parish's governing authority.
- (3) Remove the two members to be appointed from submissions by the parish's legislative delegation.
- (4) Add two members to the Regional Transit Authority board of commissioners as follows:
 (a) one member appointed from House District 102 by the state representative who represents the district and (b) one member appointed from Senate District 7 by the state senator who represents the district.
- (5) Add a requirement that each member appointed to the authority possess previous union experience.

(6) Remove a provision that would have required the powers of the Regional Transit Authority board of commissioners to include at least one designated representative from the authority's non-management labor force.

Representative Bourriaque offered a motion to adopt the proposed amendments. Without objection, the amendments were adopted by a vote of 10 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Bourriaque, Boyer, Braud, Dickerson, Fontenot, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea.

Maria Pabon´, Latino Community, 408 Shrewsbury Court, Jefferson, LA 70121, spoke in support of House Bill No. 544.

Rodney Braxton, N.O. Regional Transport Authority, 543 Spanish Town Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke in opposition to House Bill No. 544.

J. Christopher Johnson, Coalition of Resilient People, no address provided, spoke in support of House Bill No. 544.

Representative Phelps offered a motion to report House Bill No. 544 with amendments. Without objection, House Bill No. 544 was reported with amendments by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Bourriaque, Boyer, Braud, Dickerson, Fontenot, Jackson, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Phelps, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 9 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

House Bill No. 760 by Representative Stagni

Representative Stagni presented House Bill No. 760, which provides relative to the Regional Transit Authority.

Cynthia Lee Sheng, Jefferson Parish President, 1221 Elmwood Park Boulevard, Jefferson, LA 70123, spoke in support of House Bill No. 760.

Representative C. Travis Johnson offered a motion to report House Bill No. 760 favorably. Without objection, House Bill No. 760 was reported favorably by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Bourriaque, Boyer, Braud, Dickerson, Fontenot, Jackson, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Phelps, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 2 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

The committee stood at ease at 10:04 a.m. The committee reconvened at 10:09 a.m.

House Bill No. 515 by Representative Horton

Representative Horton presented House Bill No. 515, which prohibits government restriction of choice regarding vehicles.

Jacqueline Lindsey, ABATE of Louisiana, 1909 Ray Avenue, Bossier City, LA 71112, spoke in support of House Bill No. 515.

Representative Tarver offered a motion to report House Bill No. 515 favorably. Without objection, House Bill No. 515 was reported favorably by a vote of 11 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Bourriaque, Boyer, Braud, Chassion, Dickerson, Fontenot, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 4 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

The committee stood at ease at 10:19 a.m. The committee reconvened at 10:22 a..m.

House Bill No. 652 by Representative Deshotel

Representative Deshotel presented House Bill No. 652, which provides relative to automated speed enforcement devices.

Representative Bourriaque offered amendments to:

- (1) Add state highways to prohibited areas on which local municipalities or local parish authorizes cannot install or utilize automated speed enforcement devices.
- (2) Make technical changes.

Representative Bourriaque offered a motion to adopt the proposed amendments. Without objection, the amendments were adopted by a vote of 11 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Bourriaque, Boyer, Braud, Chassion, Dickerson, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Phelps, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea.

Mike Knapps, Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police, 6767 Perkins Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70808, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 652.

Representative Fontenot in the chair.

Peter Robins-Brown, Louisiana Progress, 650 North 6th Street, Baton Rouge, LA70802, spoke in opposition to House Bill No. 652.

Representative Tarver offered a motion to report House Bill No. 652 with amendments, to which Representative C. Travis Johnson objected. The administrative assistant called the roll, and House Bill No. 652 was reported with amendments by a vote of 10 yeas and 2 nays. Representatives Boyer, Braud, Chassion, Dickerson, Fontenot, Jackson, Phelps, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea. Representatives C. Travis Johnson and Moore voted nay.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 3 in support and 5 in opposition. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There were no other business.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Tarver offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Boyer, Braud, Chassion, Dickerson, Fontenot, Jackson, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Phelps, Schamerhorn, Tarver, and Wiley voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:04 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Ryan Bourriaque House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Date adopted: